Free shipping over CA$100US$100
Review

ZYN in Canada

What ZYN is, where the 2024 rules put it, and exactly which cans are on a Canadian shelf today — with the dose, the pouch count and the price on every one, and one figure this brand does not publish that most sites quote anyway.

ZYN cans from the range stocked in Canada, photographed against white

Nicotine Pouches Canada · Updated · 11 min read

Short answer: yes, you can buy ZYN in Canada, and online is where it lives — the general-retail shelf closed in 2024 and the pharmacy counter carries a different, authorised range. We are holding 10 ZYN cans right now out of 64 we list, running 6 mg to 16.5 mg per pouch, at CA$17.00 a can (CA$15.00 on the one that is on sale), shipped from Richmond, British Columbia.

ZYN is the name most people arrive at this category already knowing, which makes it the brand with the widest gap between what is searched and what is written. Most of what comes back is either a shop's product grid with no information on it, or a regulatory explainer that never gets round to telling you which cans you can actually get. This page is both halves: what the range is, where it sits in the Canadian rules, and exactly what is on our shelf as this was written.

Everything below is read from our own catalogue at the moment the page is built rather than typed in once — the counts, the doses, the pouch counts and the prices all move when the shelf moves. The full grid is at every ZYN can we carry; the whole shelf, all 43 cans across 10 brands, is at nicotine pouches.

What ZYN is, and what the name covers

A ZYN is a tobacco-free nicotine pouch: plant fibre, nicotine, flavouring and a humectant in a small white sachet that sits between the top lip and the gum. Nothing is lit, nothing is inhaled, and there is no tobacco leaf in it, which is what separates a pouch from Swedish snus. The mechanics are the same as every other all-white pouch and we cover them properly in the complete guide to nicotine pouches in Canada.

What is worth knowing about ZYN specifically is the shape of the range rather than the chemistry. Across the 64 cans we list, the brand states 9 distinct doses — 1.5, 3, 6, 6.5, 9, 11, 12.5, 13.5 and 16.5 mg — and 29 flavour descriptors. That is an unusually fine-grained ladder for this category, and it is the single most useful thing about the brand: you can move one rung at a time without changing brand or flavour, which is exactly what most people fail to do when they step up and find the jump too big.

Nicotine is addictive, and pouches are an adult product. We verify at 21 and over, which clears every provincial minimum in Canada and the United States requirement in one rule. Nothing on this page is a therapeutic claim: a nicotine pouch is a flavoured nicotine product, and that is all we present it as.

Where ZYN sits in the Canadian rules

This is the part most ZYN pages skip, and it is the reason the question keeps being asked. Buying, owning and using a nicotine pouch is lawful for an adult in Canada. What changed is where they may be sold, and it changed on a date you can look up: an order published in the Canada Gazette on 15 August 2024 confined nicotine pouches to sale by a pharmacist or someone working under a pharmacist's supervision, and kept them off any shelf the public can pick from. That is what emptied the convenience-store rack, everywhere in the country.

The same order limits an authorised pouch to mint, menthol or a combination of the two, with no qualifier attached to the flavour name, and a Prescription Drug List amendment on 14 January 2026 made buccal pouches at 4 mg or less per dosage unit non-prescription for adults 18 and over. Put those together and the authorised pharmacy range is a narrow one: low dose, two flavours, behind the counter, carrying an eight-digit Natural Product Number.

Everything outside that range — which is most of the market, and which includes the ZYN cans on this page — is sold online and has not been assessed by Health Canada. Health Canada's standing consumer advisory, revised on 21 August 2025, makes the practical test the one to use: an authorised product carries a Drug Identification Number or a Natural Product Number you can search for. We would rather you knew that before buying than after. The longer version, with the questions people actually ask, is at are nicotine pouches legal in Canada, and the end-to-end version of the purchase is at how to buy nicotine pouches in Canada.

The ZYN cans in stock, and what separates them

10 cans as this page was built, every one of them a slim portion. The column that decides most of it is the first one: at CA$17.00 flat, strength and flavour are the only variables, so there is no price reason to pick one over another.

Every ZYN can in stock, weakest first
CanPer pouchPouchesFlavourPrice
Black Cherry Slim6 mg21CherryCA$17US$14
Exotic Mango Slim9 mg21MangoCA$17US$14
Slim Spearmint Strong9 mgnot statedSpearmintCA$17US$14
Cool Watermelon Strong11 mg20Watermelon, MentholCA$17US$14
Slim Apple Mint Extra Strong11 mgnot statedMint, AppleCA$17US$14
Slim Citrus Extra Strong11 mgnot statedCitrusCA$17US$14
Slim Grape Ice Extra Strong11 mg21Grape, MentholCA$17US$14
Watermelon Strawberry Slim11 mg21Watermelon, StrawberryCA$15US$12
Icy Mint Slim12.5 mg21Mint, MentholCA$17US$14
Cool Mint Ice Slim Ultra Strong16.5 mgnot statedMintCA$17US$14

Read from the live catalogue when this page was built. A can that sells out leaves this table on the next build rather than sitting here as a link to nothing.

Two things the table will not tell you, and both are honest gaps rather than omissions. Not one of the 10 cans in stock states a measured pouch weight, so the milligrams-per-gram figure this site leans on everywhere else — the number that explains why two cans at the same printed dose feel different — cannot be calculated for any of them. We could derive one and most sites would; a fitted estimate presented as a measurement is worse than saying nothing. 11 of the 64 ZYN cans we list do carry one, and it appears on those product pages when they are back in; for anything else, the strength converter will do the arithmetic on whatever figure you can find. And the pouch count moves: ZYN tins run 20 or 21, which is the only brand on this shelf that does not stick to 20, and at a flat can price that is the difference between 85 cents and 81 cents a pouch.

How the range is spaced, and where to start

The ladder across the whole ZYN range runs 1.5, 3, 6, 6.5, 9, 11, 12.5, 13.5 and 16.5 mg. What makes that useful is the spacing at the bottom: the low end of a nicotine scale is compressed, so a step from 3 mg to 6 mg is a doubling and feels like one, while a step from 11 mg to 12.5 mg is barely noticeable. A brand with rungs at both ends of that scale lets you make a small change when a small change is what you want.

On the shelf today that ladder is foreshortened — stock opens at 6 mg rather than at the 1.5 mg the range goes down to — so the honest advice for a first ZYN is the lowest number in stock, in a mint, and to buy one can rather than three. Taste and tolerance both move in the first fortnight. If nothing in stock is light enough, the whole shelf sorted by strength has cans below where ZYN currently starts.

Flavours, and how to read the names

The ZYN naming convention hides a useful signal. A name containing Ice, Icy, Cool or Freeze is telling you about the *cooling agent* rather than the flavour — those cans carry menthol on top of whatever fruit or mint is named, and they are noticeably sharper under the lip than the same flavour without it. Of the 10 cans in stock, the ones naming a cooling word are the ones to approach carefully if you have not had a pouch before.

Across the full range we list 29 distinct flavour descriptors, which is broad even by this category's standards, and they fall into the same families as everything else on the shelf: mint and spearmint, a large berry and cherry group, citrus, and a set of sweeter fruit blends. Mint is the one to start on, for the unglamorous reason that the cooling masks the pepperiness of nicotine better than fruit does. Browse by family at nicotine pouch flavours.

What ZYN costs in Canada

Every single can on this shelf is CA$17.00, ZYN included, and CA$15.00 when a line is marked down — 1 of the ZYN cans is today, and the cheapest ZYN in stock is CA$15.00. Flat pricing is deliberate: it means the choice between two cans is about what is in them rather than about what we would rather sell, and it makes the only real cost comparison the per-pouch one.

That comparison is where the 21-pouch tins matter. At CA$17.00 a can, a 20-count works out at 85 cents a pouch and a 21-count at 81 cents — a small difference on one can and a real one over a month. The other lever is the order rather than the can: shipping is free over CA$100.00, which at a flat can price is 6 cans, and on a single-can order delivery is usually the largest line on the bill. The full treatment is at what nicotine pouches cost in Canada.

Buying ZYN online in Canada

There is no ZYN counter to walk into. The two lawful routes are a pharmacy, which carries the authorised range rather than this one, and delivery — so "ZYN near me" resolves, in practice, to how fast a parcel reaches your province. Ours leave Richmond, British Columbia the same business day on weekday orders placed before 2 PM Pacific, with tracking on every one.

Delivery from Richmond, BC
WhereTypical transit
British Columbia1–2 business days
Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba2–3 business days
Ontario, Québec3–4 business days
Atlantic Canada3–5 business days
Territories & remote areas5–10 business days

Business days after dispatch, and typical carrier estimates rather than guarantees. The detail, including United States orders, is on [shipping and delivery](/shipping-and-delivery).

One thing worth checking on any shop, not only this one: where the parcel starts. An order shipped from inside Canada has no customs entry, no brokerage fee and no currency conversion in it; one shipped from overseas has all three, plus the possibility of a hold at the border that no tracking event will explain. City and province pages with the local delivery window are at Toronto, Vancouver, Calgary, Montréal, Ontario, British Columbia and Alberta.

If the ZYN you want is not in stock

We list 64 ZYN cans and hold 10, so the flavour you came for may not be there today. Two useful moves. The first is to match on the figures rather than the name: a can at the same dose in the same format from another house will land closer than a different ZYN at a different strength, and ZYN alternatives works through the closest matches on our own shelf. The second is ZYN vs VELO, which is the comparison most people are actually making when they search for either.

Can you buy ZYN in Canada?

Yes, as an adult. Buying, owning and using nicotine pouches are all lawful here. What changed in August 2024 is the sales channel: convenience stores and gas stations can no longer sell them, pharmacies carry the authorised nicotine replacement range, and everything else — ZYN included — is bought online and delivered. We are holding 10 ZYN cans today.

Where can I buy ZYN in Canada?

Online. There is no ZYN counter left to walk into: the general-retail channel closed in 2024, and a pharmacy stocks the authorised range rather than this one. We ship from Richmond, British Columbia to every province and territory, dispatching weekday orders placed before 2 PM Pacific the same day.

How much does ZYN cost in Canada?

Here, every ZYN can is CA$17.00, or CA$15.00 when a line is marked down. Because the can price is flat, the per-pouch figure is decided by the tin: 85 cents at 20 pouches and 81 cents at 21. Shipping is free over CA$100.00.

What ZYN strengths are available in Canada?

Across the 64 cans we list, ZYN states 1.5, 3, 6, 6.5, 9, 11, 12.5, 13.5 and 16.5 mg. In stock today the range is narrower — 6 mg to 16.5 mg — because the lightest cans sell out first and stay out longest. Check the table above for what is actually there.

What are the best ZYN flavours?

It depends whether you want the cooling or the fruit, and the names tell you which. Ice, Icy, Cool and Freeze all mean menthol on top of whatever else is named, which makes those cans sharper under the lip. A plain mint or spearmint is the safest first can; the fruit and berry side is where to go second. We list 29 distinct flavour descriptors across the range.

Is ZYN approved by Health Canada?

No. The authorised nicotine replacement range is a small pharmacy category — 4 mg or less per pouch, mint or menthol, sold from behind the counter and carrying an eight-digit Natural Product Number. ZYN is not in it, and neither is the rest of the online market. That is a statement about how the product is regulated, not about whether an adult may lawfully buy or use one.

Is ZYN available in Toronto, Vancouver or Calgary?

Not over a counter — the general-retail channel closed nationally. By post, yes: most Ontario and Québec addresses are 3–4 business days from dispatch, British Columbia 1–2 business days, and the Prairies 2–3 business days. Every province and territory is served.

How many pouches are in a ZYN can?

20 or 21, depending on the line — ZYN is the only brand on this shelf that does not stick to 20. It is worth checking before you compare prices, because at a flat can price the pouch count is the only thing moving what each pouch costs you.

How strong is ZYN compared with other brands?

Middle of the market. The ZYN cans in stock run 6 mg to 16.5 mg per pouch, where this shelf as a whole reaches considerably higher. None of the cans in stock states a measured pouch weight, so the concentration figure that would let you compare one precisely against another brand cannot be calculated for them — anyone quoting one has estimated it.

What is a good ZYN alternative in Canada?

Match the figures rather than the name: the same dose in the same format from another house will feel closer than a different ZYN at a different strength. Our shelf is sorted by strength and format so you can do that directly, and we have worked through the closest matches on a page of their own.

Join the club

Subscribe for deals, fresh drops and pouch news — straight to your inbox.

⚠️ This page discusses products containing nicotine, an addictive chemical. For adult use (21+) only. Keep out of reach of children and pets.

Keep reading

Cans of KLAR nicotine pouches review from the Nicotine Pouches Canada range
Review

KLAR nicotine pouches: the full range, reviewed

What follows is the KLAR range as we handle it — 4 products, 4 in stock right now, priced and shipped from Richmond, BC. The point is to say what the line-up covers and where it stops.

8 min read · 4 products featured

Cans of Royal White nicotine pouches review from the Nicotine Pouches Canada range
Review

Royal White nicotine pouches: the full range, reviewed

This is a review of Royal White written from the stockroom: 7 products we buy, hold and ship ourselves. Strengths, formats and flavours below are read from our live catalogue, so they change when the shelf does.

8 min read · 6 products featured

Cans of Garant nicotine pouches review from the Nicotine Pouches Canada range
Review

Garant nicotine pouches: the full range, reviewed

We stock 6 Garant products and ship them from Richmond, BC, so this is a look at the range from the inside of the warehouse rather than a summary of someone else's spec sheet. Here is what the line-up covers, what it does not, and who it suits.

8 min read · 6 products featured

← All guides & comparisons